SAN JUAN COUNTY FIRE DISTRICT #3 BOARD OF FIRE COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL MEETING August 3, 2020

Chair Jarman called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT:

Albert Olson and Bob Jarman. Frank Cardinale had an excused absence.

OTHERS PRESENT:

• Fire Chief Norvin Collins, Assistant Chief Noel Monin, Interim EMS Chief Karl Kuetzing, PIO Chuck Dalldorf, Administrative Officer Carolyn Hudson, Bob Brunkow, Karin Agosta and potentially others on the conference call.

NEW BUSINESS:

• Resolution 2020-08 Supporting the Annexation of the Outer Islands (as described in Exhibit A and B) with San Juan County Fire District #3 and Putting the Measure on the Tuesday, November 3, 2020 Ballot – Chair Jarman said that the population of the outer islands is growing exponentially and that those people can benefit from the services provided by the Fire District. The boundary will also align with that of the Hospital District. Chair Jarman said some of the islands included are Waldron, Spieden, Stuart and John's islands. Chief Collins said that they were able to acquire 40 percent of the outer island property owners' signatures. Sixty percent is required to approve a measure by petition and 10 percent is needed to put it on the ballot. Chief Collins said the decision was made to proceed with putting the measure on the ballot. Commissioner Olson MOVED to approve Resolution 2020-08 Supporting the Annexation of the Outer Islands (as described in Exhibit A and B) with San Juan County Fire District #3 and Putting the Measure on the Tuesday, November 3, 2020 ballot. Chair Jarman SECONDED the motion. The motion was APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY, At about 10:05 a.m. a couple of people who had trouble connecting just joined the meeting, so the Commissioners and Chief repeated the short meeting.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

• The next regular meeting will be at 3 p.m. on Tuesday, August 11, 2020.		
At 10:12 a.m., Commissioner Olson	2:12 a.m., Commissioner Olson MOVED to adjourn the meeting. Chair Jarman	
SECONDED the motion. The motion	on was APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.	
Chair Bob Jarman	Norvin Collins, Secretary	